2010 Induction Ceremony

Presented by BMO Nesbitt Burns, the 2010 Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony took place on March 28, 2010 in the George Weston Recital Hall at the Toronto Centre for the Arts.

The event honoured Modern Era Inductees Rush and Robert Charlebois, as well as 16 timeless songs by some of Canada’s most influential songwriters and two Legacy Award recipients.

The ceremony was hosted by Gregory Charles. Three of Rush’s greatest hits were honoured by amazing talent: Alexisonfire rocked-out with Tom Sawyer; Les Claypool gave a dexterous rendition of The Spirit of Radio; and Hamilton sensation Jacob Moon wowed the audience with his unique version of Subdivisions.

Quebec superstar Robert Charlebois played his classic song Ordinaire, co-written with Mouffe and Pierre Nadeau. Dumas along with Catherine Durand performed Lindberg by Charlebois and Claude Péloquin; and Pierre Flynn was joined by Mara Tremblay in a performance of Fu Man Chu by Charlebois and co-writers Claude Gagnon and Marcel Sabourin.

The CSHF presented the Frank Davies Legacy Award, named after the founder of the CSHF, to recorded-sound archivist Edward B. Moogk. The CMPA (Canadian Music Publishers Association) Legacy Award was given to Quebec impresario, producer and agent Guy Latraverse.

Lily Frost and Sean Cullen performed a charming rendition of Come Josephine in My Flying Machine written by Alfred Bryan and Fred Fisher; DJ Champion wowed the crowd with Michel Pagliaro’s hit J’entends frapper; Le Vent du Nord pulled off an amazing version of the classic song Des mitaines pas de pouces (by Ovila Légaré) and Marie-Jo Thério gave a magical rendition of Deux enfants du meme âge by Germaine Dugas.

The event was aired nationwide by broadcast partner CBC Radio Two on March 29, 2010 as a special presentation of Canada Live and on Espace Musique in Quebec.



Press Conference

The CSHF’s 2010 Press Conference took place in the George Weston Recital Hall of the Toronto Centre for the Arts on January 19, 2010.

Co-hosts Geneviève Borne and Lily Frost revealed the 2010 inductees to be honoured at the sixth CSHF induction ceremony on March 28, 2010.

The audience, made up of media and industry movers and shakers, were treated to a special performance by Vincent Vallières, who played a rendition of 2010 inductee Robert Charlebois’ Les ailes d’un ange. Hamilton’s own Jacob Moon gave a phenomenal performance of Subdivisions, written by 2010 Inductees, Rush.