Toutes chansons intronisées
A Guy is a Guy, une refonte d'une vieille chanson de taverne anglaise racontant l'histoire d'une fille et d'un homme impropre.
A Guy is a Guy
  • Année de l'intronisation: 2006
  • Année de composition: 1952
Auteurs-compositeurs
Oscar Brand Auteur-compositeur
© Photo Credit WNYC New York Public Radio
Artistes
Ella Fitzgerald
Peggy Lee
Doris Day
June Miller
Oscar Brand est un des plus grands auteurs-compositeurs et interprètes de folk de son époque.

Né à Winnipeg au Manitoba, Brand déménagea aux États-Unis alors qu’il était enfant, mais fut toujours conscient de ses racines canadiennes, revenant souvent au Manitoba. Ambassadeur de la musique folk, Brand anima le premier Festival Mariposa ainsi que l’émission Let’s Sing Out pour les chaînes CTV et CBC, accueillant des invités comme Judy Collins, Arlo Guthrie, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon et Gordon Lightfoot.

A Guy is a Guy est une adaptation d’une chanson de marins intitulée A Gob Is a Slob, que Brand avait apprise de certains matelots de la Marine royale de l’Atlantique Nord à Montréal. Cette chanson tire ses origines d’un air britannique de 1719 intitulé A Knave is a Knave.

Véritable artisan, Brand écrivit plus de 1000 chansons, enregistra plus de 100 microsillons et fut l’auteur de quatre des recueils de chansons folk les plus vendus au monde. Son nom figure au générique de plus de 300 documentaires et il a remporta un prix Emmy pour l’une de ses émissions de télévision sur NBC, deux prix Peabody et un prix Lifetime, en compagnie d’Oprah Winfrey.

Lire l'article au complet
/
A Guys is a Guy (Oscar Brand) - interprétée par Divine Brown
"A Guy is a Guy" interprétée par Divine Brown à la cérémonie d'intronisation du Panthéon de auteurs et compositeurs canadiens en 2006.
Articles apparentés
le 24 octobre, 2018

The Hockey Song de Stompin Tom Connors intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 22 octobre, 2018

La chanson « Québécois » du groupe La Révolution Française Intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
Nos partenaires

All inducted songs
A Guy is a Guy, a revamp of an old English tavern song about a girl and an improper man.
A Guy is a Guy
  • Year Inducted: 2006
  • Written In: 1952
Songwriters
Oscar Brand Songwriter
© Photo Credit WNYC New York Public Radio
Artists
Ella Fitzgerald
Peggy Lee
Doris Day
June Miller
Oscar Brand is one of the greatest folksingers and songwriters of our time.

Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Brand moved to the United States as a child, but was always aware of his Canadian roots, returning to Manitoba many times. An ambassador for folk music, Brand hosted the first Mariposa Festival and also hosted Let’s Sing Out for CTV and CBC, welcoming such guests as Judy Collins, Arlo Guthrie, Joni Mitchell, Paul Simon and Gordon Lightfoot.

A Guy is a Guy is an adaptation of a Royal navy song entitled, A Gob Is a Slob, which Brand learned from some North Atlantic Royal Navy sailors in Montreal. It was originally based on a 1719 British tune entitled A Knave is a Knave.

A Guy is a Guy was written for and recorded by Doris Day in 1952, quickly going to the #1 spot on the Billboard charts, selling thousands sheet music copies, and giving Day her fourth million-selling record…and all from a song that was once a bawdy soldiers’ tune.

A true journeyman, Brand has written over 1000 songs, recorded over 100 LPs and is the author of four best-selling books of folksong collections. He is credited with work on over 300 documentaries, and has won an Emmy Award for one of his NBC-TV shows, two Peabody Awards and one Lifetime Award, shared with Oprah Winfrey.

Read full story
/
A Guy is a Guy (Oscar Brand) - performed by Divine Brown
"A Guy is a Guy" performed by Canadian Juno Award Winning R&B & Soul singer Divine Brown at the 2006 CSHF Induction Ceremony.
Related News
October 24, 2018

The Hockey Song by Stompin’ Tom Connors to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
October 22, 2018

“Québécois” by La Révolution Française inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
Our Partners