Toutes chansons intronisées
« Je pense que “No Time” est la meilleure chose que nous ayons accomplie. C’est une chanson charnière de notre carrière »
No Time
  • Année de l'intronisation: 2005
  • Année de composition: 1969
Randy Bachman et Burton Cummings du groupe The Guess Who voulaient un « hit » rock pour suivre leur premier disque d’or, la ballade These Eyes. C’est ainsi qu’a vu le jour la pièce très rock No Time.

Le son country rock de Buffalo Springfield, dont faisait notamment partie leur ami de Winnipeg (et membre du Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens) Neil Young les avaient beaucoup impressionnés. L’inspiration du « riff » de guitare en ouverture No Time vient d’ailleurs d’un « riff » de Springfield dans la chanson Hung Upside Down, et Bachman a déjà expliqué qu’il l’a « tourné sens dessus dessous pour en faire mon propre “riff”. »

The Guess Who a rodé No Time à l’émission « Let’s Go » de la CBC avant de l’enregistrer avec le réalisateur Jack Richardson (qui était aussi derrière leur succès These Eyes) pour leur album « Canned Wheat » paru en 1969. Ils l’ont ensuite réenregistrée pour l’album American Woman et lancé en 45 trs ; début 1970, le simple s’était déjà écoulé à un million d’exemplaires.

La distorsion et le « feedback » que Bachman a réussi à tirer de sa Gibson Les Paul 1959 (la guitare préférée de guitaristes comme Eric Clapton et Jimmy Page) a immédiatement fait de No Time un « hit » rock marquant. Bachman, quant à lui, accorde le mérite à son « Herzog » — un ampli et une barre de trémolo fabriqués sur mesure — pour ce son particulier que bon nombre de guitaristes se sont empressés d’adopter.

La guitare électrisante de Bachman, les paroles de Cummings où tous les coups sont permis et le reste du groupe au sommet de sa forme ont assuré à No Time de grimper rapidement dans les palmarès en février et mars 1970 : No. 1 RPM, No. 4 Cashbox, No. 5 Billboard et No. 9 CHUM. The Guess Who a été sacré groupe de l’année aux JUNOs en 1970 et 1971.

De dire Bachman au sujet de la création de cette chanson avec Cummings : « une chimie s’est installée et il en a résulté de l’excellente musique. Je suis devenu le McCartney du Lennon de Burton, nous nous complétions parfaitement. »

No Time, qui a reçu un prix BMI, est, essentiellement, une chanson de séparation :

« No time for a summer friend (librement : je n’ai pas de temps pour une amitié d’un été)
No time for the love you send (je n’ai pas de temps pour l’amour que tu m’envoies)
Seasons change and so did I … (les saisons changent et moi aussi)
There’s no time left for you. (il ne reste plus de temps pour toi) »

L’intrigante strophe « No time for the killing floor » (littéralement « pas de temps pour l’abattoir) est un message antiguerre que les deux artistes avaient entendu à San Francisco et qui compare, avec justesse, la guerre du Vietnam à un abattoir. (Ils ont réitéré leur position pacifiste avec leur chanson contestataire American Woman qui est devenue un No. 1 au palmarès.)

Bachman et Cummings, ensemble ou séparément, interprètent souvent No Time sur scène. La chanson a été reprise par Chocolate Bunnies from Hell de Winnipeg, Danger, Ltd., Boss Brass, en version jazz instrumentale, et Colin Wiebe dans le spectacle « American Woman—Celebrating The Music Of The Guess Who ».

On a pu entendre No Time dans le film « Pirates of Silicon Valley » ainsi que dans les émission de télé « Fringe » et « Life on Mars », et Bachman croit même que la chanson a servi d’inspiration au « riff » d’ouverture du thème musical de l’émission « Law & Order ».

Le producteur de « Running Back Through Canada » Lorne Saifer a dit ceci du duo créatif : « Burton et Randy sont une rare convergence de talents qui, ensemble, créent de la magie. »

Le guitariste Randy Bachman et le chanteur et pianiste Burton Cummings de Winnipeg forment le puissant duo créatif au cœur du premier super groupe canadien, The Guess Who. Bachman a continué sa carrière couronnée de succès avec le groupe Bachman-Turner Overdrive ainsi qu’en solo, en plus d’animer une émission de radio nationale, tandis que Cummings a connu une carrière solo tout aussi couronnée de succès. Le groupe a également reçu un Prix du gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène en plus d’être intronisé au Panthéon de la musique canadienne et au Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Lire l'article au complet
/
No Time (Randy Bachman, Burton Cummings)
Performance de Randy Bachman et de Burton Cummings de "No Time" lors de la cérémonie d'intronisation 2005 du PACC, avec Tom Cochrane, Ian Thornley, Gavin Brown, Jeff Headley, et des membres du group rock Three Days Grace.
Articles apparentés
le 24 octobre, 2018

The Hockey Song de Stompin Tom Connors intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 22 octobre, 2018

La chanson « Québécois » du groupe La Révolution Française Intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
Nos partenaires

All inducted songs
"I think "No Time" was the best thing we ever did. It was a pivotal song in our career" - Burton Cummings
No Time
  • Year Inducted: 2005
  • Written In: 1969
Randy Bachman and Burton Cummings of The Guess Who were aiming for a rock hit to follow their first gold record, the ballad These Eyes. They found it in the contrasting hard-driving rocker No Time.

They had been impressed by the new country-rock sound of Buffalo Springfield, of which their Winnipeg friend (and Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee) Neil Young was a member. The inspiration for No Time’s opening guitar riff came from one in Springfield’s Hung Upside Down; Bachman said he “turned it upside down and made my own riff out of it.”

The Guess Who tested out No Time on the CBC TV show “Let’s Go” before recording it with producer Jack Richardson (the driving force behind These Eyes) for their 1969 RCA album “Canned Wheat.” They then re-recorded it for their American Woman album and released it as a 45-rpm single; by early 1970 it was another million-seller.

The distortion and feedback that Bachman coaxed from his 1959 Gibson Les Paul guitar (the brand favoured by guitarists Eric Clapton and Jimmy Page) immediately marked No Time as an influential rock hit. Bachman credits his “Herzog” – a custom amplifier unit and “whammy” bar – for his distinctive sound, which many other guitarists immediately adopted.

With Bachman’s blazing guitar, Cummings’s no-holds-barred vocals and the other band members at the top of their game, No Time quickly rose on the charts through February and March 1970: No. 1 on RPM; Cashbox’s No. 4; Billboard’s No. 5; and CHUM’s No. 9. The Guess Who were chosen as the Junos’ top group in 1970 and again in 1971.

Bachman later described song-writing with Cummings: “There was just a chemistry that happened, and the result was some great music. I became McCartney to Burton’s Lennon, the missing piece to his puzzle and he to mine.”

The BMI award-winning No Time is, in essence, a break-up song:

“No time for a summer friend
No time for the love you send
Seasons change and so did I…
There’s no time left for you.”

The intriguing lyric “No time for the killing floor” is anti-war slang that Cummings and Bachman had heard in San Francisco, equating the Viet Nam war – accurately – with a slaughterhouse. (They followed up this sentiment in the No. 1 hit protest song American Woman.)

Bachman and Cummings have often, together and individually, performed No Time in concert. It has been covered by Winnipeg’s Chocolate Bunnies from Hell; Danger, Ltd.; The Boss Brass as a jazz instrumental; and by Colin Wiebe in the show “American Woman ‒ Celebrating The Music Of The Guess Who.”

You can hear No Time in the film “Pirates of Silicon Valley,” and the TV shows “Fringe” and “Life on Mars;” Bachman believes it may also be the genesis for the opening riff in the hit show “Law & Order” theme music.

The Guess Who’s “Running Back Through Canada” producer Lorne Saifer says about this song-writing duo: “Burton and Randy are that rare combination of talents that together create magic.”

Guitarist Randy Bachman and vocalist/keyboardist Burton Cummings are the formidable Winnipeg-based song-writing partners behind Canada’s first super-group, The Guess Who. Bachman went on to further international success with the band Bachman-Turner Overdrive, solo albums, and a national radio show, and Cummings is a platinum-selling solo recording artist. Their many accomplishments include Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards and recognition in the Canadian Music Hall of Fame and Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Read full story
/
No Time (performed by Randy Bachman, Burton Cummings & an All-Star Band)
"No Time" was performed at the 2005 CSHF Induction Gala by Bachman and Cummings, with an All-Star band including Juno-award winning singer-songwriter Tom Cochrane, rock artist Ian Thornley, Canadian musician Gavin Brown, blues legend Jeff Healey and members of Canadian rock band Three Days Grace.
Related News
October 24, 2018

The Hockey Song by Stompin’ Tom Connors to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
October 22, 2018

“Québécois” by La Révolution Française inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
Our Partners