Toutes chansons intronisées
« … some of these days, you’re gonna miss me, honey » (un de ces jours, je vais te manquer, chérie)
Some of These Days
  • Année de l'intronisation: 2005
  • Année de composition: 1910
Auteurs-compositeurs
Artistes
Louis Armstrong
Bing Crosby
Ella Fitzgerald
Cab Calloway
Jeff Healey
Billie Holiday
Oscar Peterson
The Four Lads

Le standard du répertoire jazz Some of These Days fut le premier grand succès de Shelton Brooks et a contribué au début de l’ère du jazz. La vedette d’origine russe du vaudeville, Sophie Tucker (« The Last of the Red-Hot Mamas ») était reconnue pour son ouverture à la musique des compositeurs noirs et c’est sa servante, Mollie Elkins, qui l’a convaincue de permettre au jeune Brooks de lui présenter sa création. Tucker a accepté de la chanter dans un théâtre de Chicago et l’a adoptée comme chanson thème, et un auteur a un jour écrit que c’est « la chanson la plus emblématique de l’époque de Tin Pan Alley ». Depuis sa création, Some of These Days s’est écoulée a plus d’un million d’exemplaires, notamment en raison du succès de sa partition, et de nombreux artistes en ont enregistré une version, incluant Louis Armstrong, Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald, Cab Calloway et Billie Holiday.

Selon la biographie « Sophie Tucker : First Lady of Show Business », Brooks aurait d’abord composé la mélodie qui combine des éléments de ragtime à la chanson populaire de Tin Pan Alley afin de plaire à un éditeur de musique. Il aurait plus tard entendu un couple se disputer dans un café et la femme aurait lancé « Some of these days, you’re going to miss me, honey! » (Un de ces jours, je te manquerai, mon chéri !) Brooks aurait transformé cette scène en paroles et a ajouté la chanson à son spectacle. L’artiste de vaudeville Blossom Seeley l’a également adoptée, et Rossiter en a publié la partition, assurant ainsi à l’œuvre de devenir un « hit » ragtime en 1910.

L’année suivante Tucker a enregistré Some of These Days sur cylindre de cire Edison, et l’enregistrement s’est rendu jusqu’au sommet des palmarès et finira intronisé au Panthéon des Grammys. The American Quartet mettant en vedette Billy Murray en fera également un « hit » en 1911, tout comme The Original Dixieland Jazz Band avec son enregistrement de 1923 qui est reconnu comme un des premiers « hits » jazz. Tucker l’a enregistrée de nouveau avec Ted Lewis et son orchestre (No. 1 en 1927), et ce fut un succès pour Bing Crosby et l’orchestre d’Isham Jones (1932).

Dans son autobiographie, Tucker écrivait « elle avait tout ce qu’il faut. Ne l’a-t-elle pas prouvé ? Je la chante depuis trente ans et c’est mon thème musical. Je l’ai retournée dans tous les sens imaginables, chanson dramatique, chanson fantaisiste, ballade sentimentale, et peu importe la version, le public l’adore et en redemande. »
Tucker a chanté Some of These Days dans les films « Honky Tonk » (1929), « Broadway Melody of 1938 » (1937) et « Follow the Boys » (1944), et on également pu l’entendre dans « Rose Marie » (chantée par Jeanette MacDonald), « Scarface », « For Me and My Gal », « All That Jazz », « Beyond the Sea », et, à la télévision, dans « Boardwalk Empire » et « White Collar ».

Au Canada, Some of These Days a été enregistrée par Jeff Healey, The Four Lads, Serena Ryder, Oscar Peterson et Ranee Lee. Ce standard polyvalent a également été repris par une longue liste de vedettes de la pop et du jazz, dont notamment Big Maybelle, Rosemary Clooney, Bobby Darin, Judy Garland, Coleman Hawkins, Brenda Lee, Ted Lewis and His Band, The McGuire Sisters, The Mills Brothers, Les Paul et Mary Ford, le Preservation Hall Jazz Band et Bobby Vinton.

Brooks a interprété sa célèbre chanson en 1940, à San Francisco, lors du spectacle soulignant le 25e anniversaire d’ASCAP ainsi qu’en 1953 pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de carrière de Tucker.

L’auteur-compositeur, pianiste et acteur Shelton Brooks (1886-1975) est né à Amherstburg, en Ontario. Sa famille et lui se sont installés aux États-Unis alors qu’il était adolescent, et il est devenu pianiste ragtime à Détroit et Chicago. Il a écrit des chansons vaudeville pour Al Jolson et Nora Bayes et plus de composer des classiques du jazz comme Darktown Strutters’ Ball et Walkin’ the Dog.

Lire l'article au complet
/
Some of These Days & The Darktown Strutters' Ball - Interprétation de Jackie Richardson et Joe Sealy
Les chansons furent interprétées par Jackie Richardson, chanteuse et actrice, et le pianiste Joe Sealy lors de la cérémonie d'intronisation 2005 du PACC.
Articles apparentés
le 18 décembre, 2018

Galt MacDermott, compositeur de la comédie musicale Hair, s’éteint à l’âge de 89 ans.

Nouvelles du PACC
le 24 octobre, 2018

The Hockey Song de Stompin Tom Connors intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
Nos partenaires

All inducted songs
“It had everything. Hasn't it proved it? I've been singing it for thirty years, made it my theme song."
Some of These Days
  • Year Inducted: 2005
  • Written In: 1910
Songwriters
Artists
Louis Armstrong
Bing Crosby
Ella Fitzgerald
Cab Calloway
Billy Murray
Sophie Tucker
Billie Holiday
Oscar Peterson
Jeff Healey
The Four Lads
The jazz standard Some of These Days was Shelton Brooks’ first big hit, and helped launch the jazz age.

Russian-born vaudeville star Sophie Tucker (“The Last of the Red-Hot Mamas”), who was known to be receptive to music by Black composers, was convinced by her maid, Mollie Elkins, to hear the young Brooks demonstrate the song. Tucker agreed to sing it at a Chicago theatre, and adopted it as her theme song, one writer calling it “ the landmark song of this Tin Pan Alley epoch.” Over its lifetime, Some of These Days sold over one million copies – sheet music sales were substantial – and was recorded by numerous artists, including Louis Armstrong, Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald, Cab Calloway, and Billie Holiday.

According to Tucker’s biography “Sophie Tucker: First Lady of Show Business,” Brooks wrote the melody first, combining elements of ragtime and Tin Pan Alley popular song, aiming to please a music publisher. Then, he overheard a couple in a café arguing, the woman spitting out, “Some of these days, you’re going to miss me, honey!” Brooks turned that encounter into the lyrics, and incorporated the song into his stage act. Vaudevillian Blossom Seeley picked it up, Rossiter published the sheet music, and the song became a 1910 ragtime hit.

The following year Tucker recorded Some of These Days on an Edison wax cylinder, which topped the charts and was later inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame. The American Quartet featuring Billy Murray had another hit with it in 1911, followed by The Original Dixieland Jazz Band 1923 recording, which is regarded as one of the first jazz hits. Tucker again recorded a hit with Ted Lewis and orchestra (No. 1, 1927), and Bing Crosby had one with the Isham Jones orchestra (1932).

In her autobiography, Tucker declared, “It had everything. Hasn't it proved it? I've been singing it for thirty years, made it my theme song. I've turned it inside out, singing it every way imaginable, as a dramatic song, as a novelty number, as a sentimental ballad, and always audiences have loved it and asked for it.”
Tucker sang Some of These Days in the films “Honky Tonk” (1929), “Broadway Melody of 1938” (1937), and “Follow the Boys” (1944), and it has appeared in “Rose Marie” (sung by Jeanette MacDonald), “Scarface,” “For Me and My Gal,” “All That Jazz,” “Beyond the Sea,” and TV’s “Boardwalk Empire” and “White Collar.”

In Canada, Some of These Days has been recorded by Jeff Healey, The Four Lads, Serena Ryder, Oscar Peterson, and Ranee Lee. This versatile standard has also been covered by a long list of pop and jazz stars, such as Big Maybelle, Rosemary Clooney, Bobby Darin, Judy Garland, Coleman Hawkins, Brenda Lee, Ted Lewis and His Band, The McGuire Sisters, The Mills Brothers, Les Paul and Mary Ford, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, and teen idol Bobby Vinton.

Brooks performed his famous tune in 1940 in San Francisco for ASCAP’s 25th anniversary, and again in 1953 to mark Tucker’s 50th anniversary in show biz.

Songwriter, pianist, and actor Shelton Brooks (1886 – 1975) was born in Amherstburg, Ontario. Moving to the USA in his teens with his family, Brooks became a ragtime pianist in Detroit and Chicago. He wrote vaudeville songs for Al Jolson and Nora Bayes, and penned the jazz standards Darktown Strutters’ Ball and Walkin’ the Dog.

Read full story
/
Some of These Days & The Darktown Strutters' Ball - Performed by Jackie Richardson and Joe Sealy
The songs were performed by Canadian Gemini Award Winning singer and actress, Jackie Richardson, along with pianist Joe Sealy at the 2005 CSHF Induction Gala.
Related News
October 24, 2018

The Hockey Song by Stompin’ Tom Connors to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
October 22, 2018

“Québécois” by La Révolution Française inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
Our Partners