Toutes chansons intronisées
Bob Dylan a rendu hommage à Red River Valley en citant les paroles « Come and sit by my side » dans sa chanson Red River Shore.
The Red River Valley
  • Année de l'intronisation: 2003
  • Année de composition: 1870
Auteurs-compositeurs
Artistes
Andrews Sisters
Gene Autry
Connie Francis
Roy Rogers
George Strait
Slim Whitman
The Red River Valley, l’une des chansons folk les plus connues en Amérique du Nord, existe depuis aussi longtemps que le Canada.

Hollywood et les premiers chanteurs de country ont fait de cette chanson, dans l’esprit de la majorité des gens, une chanson d’amour de cowboy, mais les paroles originales font plutôt référence à un événement crucial de l’histoire de la vallée manitobaine qui lui a donné son titre.

La pièce Red River Valley a été écrite à peu près au même moment que la Rébellion de la rivière Rouge et elle raconte la relation entre une femme Métis et un soldat anglophone. La femme a le cœur brisé, car son amoureux de soldat doit lever le camp et retourner à l’est avec le reste des troupes :

« Come and sit by my side if you love me (Viens t’asseoir à mes côtés si tu m’aimes)
Do not hasten to bid me adieu (Ne te presse pas de me dire adieu)
But remember the Red River Valley (Mais souviens-toi de la vallée de la rivière Rouge)
And the girl who has loved you so true. (Et de la fille qui t’a tant aimé) »

Red River Valley s’est fait connaître dans cinq provinces canadiennes bien avant l’apparition des technologies d’enregistrement ou de radiodiffusion. En 1896, la chanson a été éditée aux États-Unis sous le titre In the Bright Mohawk Valley, et elle est ainsi devenue associée à une autre rivière Rouge, celle-là coulant au Texas. Les paroles ont subséquemment été adaptées pour personnifier un cowboy disant au revoir à sa dulcinée, et c’est désormais cette version qui est la plus connue.

Red River Valley a d’abord été enregistrée en 1925 par le cowboy chantant Carl Sprague, et Gene Autry l’a popularisée au cinéma dès 1936. Red River Valley a été en vedette dans une multitude de films western dont les très influents « The Grapes of Wrath » et « The Ox-Box Incident ». Roy Rogers, Bob Nolan et The Sons of the Pioneers l’ont interprétée dans le film « Red River Valley » en 1941.

D’innombrables vedettes du folk et du country, canadiennes et américaines, ont enregistré ou interprété Red River Valley au fil des ans, dont notamment Lynn Anderson, les Andrews Sisters, Eddy Arnold, Gene Autry, Judy Collins en compagnie de Kris Kristofferson, Stompin’ Tom Connors, Dale Evans, Connie Francis, Woody Guthrie, les McGuire Sisters, Ed McCurdy, Mitch Miller, Stevie Nicks, Marty Robbins, Pete Seeger, les Smothers Brothers (une version comique pour la télé), The Sons of the Pioneers, George Strait, Slim Whitman, Roger Whittaker et Roger Williams.

Certaines versions, comme celle des McGuire Sisters, proposent des paroles différentes, mais racontent tout de même l’histoire d’une amoureuse abandonnée.

La gloire de Red River Valley a donné lieu à de nombreuses parodies et répliques, dont notamment Answer to Red River Valley de Gene Autry, Please Don’t Play Red River Valley de Johnny Cash, et Red River Valley II, qui raconte avec humour la vie difficile des fermiers des prairies. L’illustre auteur-compositeur Bob Dylan, qui est originaire du Minnesota, près de la frontière manitobaine, a rendu hommage à Red River Valley en citant les paroles « Come and sit by my side » dans sa chanson Red River Shore.

L’immortelle Red River Valley continue d’être appréciée de tous, jeunes et moins jeunes, partout en Amérique du Nord et ailleurs dans le monde

Lire l'article au complet
Articles apparentés
le 24 octobre, 2018

The Hockey Song de Stompin Tom Connors intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 22 octobre, 2018

La chanson « Québécois » du groupe La Révolution Française Intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
Nos partenaires

All inducted songs
Bob Dylan honoured Red River Valley by quoting its line “Come and sit by my side” in his song Red River Shore
The Red River Valley
  • Year Inducted: 2003
  • Written In: 1870
Songwriters
Artists
Andrews Sisters
Gene Autry
Connie Francis
Roy Rogers
George Strait
Slim Whitman

The Red River Valley, one of the best-known folk songs in North America, has been around for about as long as the nation of Canada. Thanks to Hollywood and early country music singers, the song is usually now thought of as a cowboy’s love song, but the original lyrics actually refer to a seminal event in the history of the Manitoba valley for which the song is named.

The original Red River Valley, composed around the time of the 1870 Red River Rebellion, tells of the relationship between a local Métis woman and an English-speaking soldier who came west with the troops. The Métis girl is heartbroken because her soldier lover must decamp back east with his troop:

“Come and sit by my side if you love me
Do not hasten to bid me adieu
But remember the Red River Valley
And the girl who has loved you so true.”

Red River Valley had spread through five Canadian provinces well before the availability of recording technology or radio. Then in 1896, the tune was published in the U.S. as In the Bright Mohawk Valley, and became associated with a different Red River, the one that runs through Texas. Later lyrics have a cowboy saying goodbye to his girl, and today that is the best-known version.

Red River Valley was first recorded in 1925, by cowboy singer Carl Sprague, and Gene Autry popularized it on film as early as 1936. Red River Valley has been featured in a multitude of western films, including the landmark pictures “The Grapes of Wrath” and “The Ox-Box Incident.” Roy Rogers, Bob Nolan and The Sons of the Pioneers sang it in 1941’s “Red River Valley.”

Countless folk and country stars, both Canadian and American, have recorded or performed Red River Valley over the decades, including Lynn Anderson, the Andrews Sisters, Eddy Arnold, Gene Autry, Judy Collins with Kris Kristofferson, Stompin’ Tom Connors, Dale Evans, Connie Francis, Woody Guthrie, the McGuire Sisters, Ed McCurdy, Mitch Miller, Stevie Nicks, Marty Robbins, Pete Seeger, the Smothers Brothers (in a comic version for television), The Sons of the Pioneers, George Strait, Slim Whitman, Roger Whittaker, and Roger Williams.

Some versions, like the McGuire Sisters’ cover, have new lyrics but still tell the story of a lover being left behind.

Red River Valley’s fame has spawned parodies and related songs, for example Gene Autry’s Answer to Red River Valley; Johnny Cash’s Please Don’t Play Red River Valley; and the comic Red River Valley II, about prairie farmers’ hardships. The decorated songwriter Bob Dylan, who hails from Minnesota near the Manitoba border, honoured Red River Valley by quoting its line “Come and sit by my side” in his song Red River Shore.

The timeless Red River Valley continues to be appreciated by young and old across North America and beyond.

Read full story
Related News
August 27, 2018

Marcel Martel's “Un coin du ciel” to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame at Festival Western de St-Tite

Media releases
August 16, 2018

Robert Paquette’s “Bleu et blanc” to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame during 50th Edition of Festival international de la chanson de Granby

Media releases
Our Partners