Retourner

Raymond Egan

Année de l'intronisation: 2007
Origine: Windsor, Ontario
1890-1952

Raymond B. Egan fut l’un des plus grands et prolifiques paroliers de Broadway et de Hollywood dans les années 1920 et 1930, époque où la comédie musicale et le cinéma connurent un important essor.

Né à Windsor, Ontario en 1890, Egan entama sa carrière à Détroit au Michigan, comme petit chanteur dans la chorale de l’église épiscopalienne St. John’s. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de l’Université du Michigan, il travailla pour plusieurs compositeurs importants mais aussi comme caissier dans une banque du centre-ville de Détroit, pour arrondir ses fins de mois.

Une fois déménagé à New York au début des années 1920, Egan écrivit des chansons pour des comédies musicales de Broadway telles Robinson Crusoe, Jr., Silks and Satins, Holka Polka et l’édition 1935 du Earl Carroll’s Sketch Book. Il écrivit également des chansons pour les films à succès d’Hollywood, comme Paramount on Parade, Red Headed Woman et The Prizefighter and The Lady.

Egan collabora avec certains des meilleurs compositeurs de l’époque Tin Pan Alley, dont Gus Kahn, Walter Donaldson, Ted Fio Rito et Harry Tierney. Considérées comme ses trois meilleures œuvres, les paroles de Sleepy Time Gal, Ain’t We Got Fun? et The Japanese Sandman ont toutes été mises en musique par son grand ami et collaborateur Richard Whiting, compositeur autodidacte de talent. Ensemble, Egan et Whiting composèrent également une des plus grandes chansons de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale : Till We Meet Again, une ballade sentimentale qui porte sur les adieux que font à leurs bien-aimées les soldats en partance pour le front.

On doit à Raymond Egan plusieurs autres succès populaires qui ont traversé toutes les époques : Three on a Match, Where The Morning Glories Grow, In a Little While, Tea Leaves, You’re Still an Old Sweetheart of Mine, Some Sunday Morning, Somebody’s Wrong, Tell Me Why You Smile Mona Lisa, Dear Old Gal, Who’s Your Pal Tonight?, There Ain’t No Maybe in My Baby’s Eyes, I Never Knew I Could Love Anybody, Downstream Drifter et Red-Headed Woman.

Parmi les nombreux artistes ayants repris ses chansons, nous retrouvons Margaret Whiting, Doris Day, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Rosemary Clooney, Chet Atkins, Peggy Lee, Dick Van Dyke, Perry Como, Benny Goodman, Judy Garland, Tommy Dorsey, Django Reinhardt et Dean Martin.

Reconnu comme l’un des 300 musiciens les plus influents de Détroit, Raymond B. Egan est mort à Westport (Connecticut) le 13 octobre 1952. Il fut intronisé à titre posthume au US Songwriters Hall of Fame en 1970.

Lire la biographie complète
/
Sleepy Time Gal - interprétée par Emm Gryner
"Sleepy Time Gal", interprétée par l'auteure-compositrice Emm Gryner à la cérémonie d’intronisation du PACC en 2007.
Articles apparentés
le 24 octobre, 2018

The Hockey Song de Stompin Tom Connors intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 22 octobre, 2018

La chanson « Québécois » du groupe La Révolution Française Intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
Nos partenaires

Raymond Egan

Windsor, Ontario, 14 November, 1890 - Westport, Connecticut, 13 October, 1952
Year Inducted: 2007
Era Inducted To: Pioneer Era

Raymond B. Egan was one of the world’s greatest and most prolific Broadway and Hollywood movie lyricists during the boom period of the 1920’s and 1930’s.

Born in Windsor, Ontario in 1890, Egan began his musical career across the border in Detroit, Michigan as a boy soprano with St. John’s Episcopal Church. Following his graduation from the University of Michigan, Egan worked with several major composers of the period and secured a job as a staff writer for Grinnells Music Co. in downtown Detroit.

Moving to New York City in the early 1920’s, Egan went on to contribute songs for Broadway musicals such as Robinson Crusoe, Jr., Silks and Satins, Holka Polka and Earl Carroll’s Sketch Book of 1935. He also wrote songs for the Hollywood films Paramount on Parade, Red Headed Woman, and The Prizefighter and The Lady. However, his focus was on writing popular standards without the confines of a book and score.

Egan collaborated with many of the best composers of the Tin Pan Alley Era; among them were Gus Kahn, Walter Donaldson, Ted Fio Rito, and Harry Tierney. Arguably his three greatest lyrics, Sleepy Time Gal, Ain’t We Got Fun?, and The Japanese Sandman, were all set to music by his close friend and collaborator, Richard Whiting, a talented self-taught composer. Together Egan and Whiting also composed one of the greatest war tunes of all time, Till We Meet Again, a sentimental favourite about soldiers saying goodbye to their sweethearts as they leave for the war.

Egan, however, had numerous other popular hits that have stood the test of time including Three on A Match, Where the Morning Glories Grow, In a Little While, Tea Leaves, You’re Still an Old Sweetheart of Mine, Some Sunday Morning, Somebody’s Wrong, Tell Me Why You Smile, Mona Lisa, Dear Old Gal, Who’s Your Pal Tonight?, There Ain’t No Maybe in My Baby’s Eyes, I Never Knew I Could Love Anybody, Downstream Drifter, and Red-Headed Woman.

Artists who have covered his songs include Doris Day, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Rosemary Clooney, Chet Atkins, Peggy Lee, Dick Van Dyke, Perry Como, Benny Goodman, Judy Garland, Tommy Dorsey, Django Reinhardt and Dean Martin.

Named one of Detroit’s 300 most influential musicians, Raymond B. Egan died in Westport, Connecticut on October 13, 1952. He was posthumously inducted into the US Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1970.

Raymond Egan

Songs

PLAY Sleepy Time Gal - Art Landry & His Orchestra (1926 Henry Burr vocal refrain)
PLAY Ain't We Got Fun? - Doris Day