CSHF Announces Additional Performing Artists for 2017 Induction Ceremony | CSHF
Go back

CSHF Announces Additional Performing Artists for 2017 Induction Ceremony



TORONTO, ON – Today the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) announces additional performing artists for the 2017 bilingual Induction Ceremony, presented by Richardson GMP on Saturday, September 23, at Massey Hall.

The Award-winning A cappella / Pop group Eh440, Polar Pop artist and JUNO Award winner Elisapie, the ever eclectic Hawksley Workman, Country/Roots singer-songwriter Jessica Mitchell, 2017 Polaris Prize short lister Lisa LeBlanc, one of Québec’s most explosive performers and 2017 JUNO Francophone Album of the Year finalist Yann Perreau and 2017 JUNO winner for Breakthrough Artist, singer-songwriter Ruth B, will join the previously announced lineup including Arkells, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Damien Robitaille, Daniel Lavoie, Don Ross, Élage Diouf, France D’amour, Florence K, Julie Payette, k.d. lang, Randy Bachman, William Prince and Whitehorse in honouring this year’s four celebrated inductees, Beau Dommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young and Stéphane Venne.

“We spend our days, with our heads down, deep in the logistics of putting this many artists on stage,” said Vanessa Thomas, Executive Director, CSHF. “Sometimes I just look at the performer list in amazement and cannot believe what a historic gathering this will be for both French and English cultures in Canada. It’s very exciting.”

Fans can expect an exhilarating live show with breath-taking music, moving stories and stunning visuals. Tickets available at www.cshfinduction.ca and www.masseyhall.com.

The Massey Hall show will be livestreamed at CBCMusic.ca and on CBC Music’s Facebook and YouTube pages starting at 7:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, September 23.

The CSHF is excited to announce that 2017 will mark the first year of The Slaight Music Emerging Songwriter Award. Generously sponsored by Slaight Music, the award has the overall objective of encouraging and supporting the development of two songwriters who are on an upward trajectory of their careers and will be highlighted at the Induction Ceremony.

The CSHF is a national, bilingual, non-profit organization, founded to honour and celebrate Canadian songwriters. Since 2003, the CSHF has held seven highly successful induction ceremonies focusing on the unique craft of the song and celebrating the value of music in our society. This year’s induction ceremony will be recorded for later broadcast by CBC Music and ICI Musique.

The CSHF is also pleased to acknowledge this year’s event sponsors, Richardson GMP, ole, SOCAN Foundation, CBC Music, ICI Musique, SOCAN, Slaight Music, Distribution Select and Gowling WLG along with the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA), City of Toronto, Musicians’ Rights Organization of Canada (MROC), Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists Recording Artists’ Collecting Society (ACTRA RACS), Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency (CMRRA), Province of Quebec and Boucher Guitars.  Media partners include CBC Music, ICI Musique, boom 97.3, Postmedia and 680 News.

For more information on CSHF please contact:

Laura Steen
Strut Entertainment


Samantha Pickard
Strut Entertainment

About CSHF
The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) honours and celebrates Canadian songwriters and those who have dedicated their lives to the legacy of music, and works to educate the public about these achievements. National and non-profit, the CSHF is guided by its own board of directors who comprise both Anglophone and Francophone music creators and publishers, as well as representation from the record industry. In December 2011, SOCAN (the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) acquired the CSHF. The Hall of Fame’s mandate aligns with SOCAN’s objectives as a songwriter and publisher membership-based organization. The CSHF continues to be run as a separate organization.

About Richardson GMP
Trusted. Canadian. Independent. Richardson GMP is Canada’s largest independent wealth management firm, entrusted with over $30 billion in client assets. With offices across the country, we are home to some of Canada’s most distinguished Investment Advisors. All Richardson GMP Advisors share a passion for professionalism and a commitment to delivering unbiased- and unparalleled-wealth management solutions. They are supported by the substantial resources of our founding companies and their respective track records of success in Canada. We are proudly Canadian. Fiercely independent. And dedicated to earning and rewarding your trust as stewards of your wealth.


Latest News
June 20, 2024

Jim Cuddy On His New Album, Upcoming Induction, And The Impact Of Playing Music

June 14, 2024

“Rock Me Gently” turns 50: Andy Kim on the genesis of his perennial hit