Retourner

La légende du folk et du country Murray McLauchlan intronisé au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens lors du Mariposa Folk Festival 2022

Communiqués de presse

Orillia, ON (7 juillet 2022)— On a dit de lui qu’il était l’un des auteurs-compositeurs canadiens les plus culturellement conscients des années 70, mais ses sympathiques portraits en chansons de gens ordinaires font appel à notre conscience sociale depuis plus de cinq décennies. Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) a le plaisir d’annoncer l’intronisation de l’auteur-compositeur Murray McLauchlan, créateur de plus de 35 simples à succès, dont les Classiques de la SOCAN Farmer’s Song, Down by the Henry Moore et Try Walkin’ Away.

Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens s’associe au Mariposa Folk Festival pour rendre hommage à McLauchlan le samedi 9 juillet sur la scène principale du festival. Depuis 2018, le PACC a commencé à s’associer à des événements musicaux et des festivals à travers le pays pour se connecter avec les fans et célébrer les chansons et les auteurs-compositeurs à leurs racines musicales.  McLauchlan sera officiellement intronisé par son ami de longue date et intronisé au PACC Gordon Lightfoot et sera honoré par une prestation hommage spéciale de Blackie and the Rodeo Kings.

« Je suis honoré de rejoindre mes respectés amis Gordon Lightfoot, Joni Mitchell et tant d’autres au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens », déclare McLauchlan.

Le Mariposa Folk Festival a lieu du 8 au 10 juillet 2022 au J.D. Tudhope Memorial Park, à Orillia, en Ontario. Les billets sont disponibles au mariposafolk.com.

Murray McLauchlan est né en Écosse en 1948 et a grandi à Toronto où il a étudié l’art et commencé à chanter dans les cafés à l’âge de 17 ans. Il fréquentait le Riverboat de Yorkville, une plaque tournante de la scène musicale folk rock dans les années 70, où se produisaient des auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes comme Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot et d’autres icônes canadiennes. C’était également une étape de tournée privilégiée pour les artistes américains, notamment Simon et Garfunkel et le chanteur folk Tom Rush. McLauchlan jouera ses compositions douces-amères Old Man’s Song et Child’s Song sur les marches du Riverboat pour Tom Rush, qui deviendra le premier artiste à enregistrer une des chansons de McLauchlan. Child’s Song a été enregistré par Tom Rush en 1970 et elle vaudra plus tard à McLauchlan trois prix JUNO : Meilleur simple folk, Meilleur simple country et Auteur-compositeur de l’année.

En 1971, McLauchlan signe avec True North Records et enregistre son premier album, « Song From the Street », qui atteint le Top 40 au Canada. Son premier simple à figurer dans le Top 10 est The Farmer’s Song qui attire l’attention sur les forces industrielles décimant les fermes familiales, tout en lui valant ses premiers prix JUNO, soit Auteur-compositeur de l’année, Meilleur simple folk et Meilleur simple country. Son album suivant, « Sweeping the Spotlight Away », lui a valu le JUNO du Meilleur chanteur country et son hommage à Toronto, Down by the Henry Moore, est devenu son premier succès numéro un à se retrouver à la fois dans les palmarès pop et country.

Le premier disque d’or de McLauchlan fut l’album « Boulevard », en 1976, qui comprend le « hit » On the Boulevard. Dans les années 1980, McLauchlan a connu un nouveau succès avec des simples comme Do You Dream of Being Somebody?, Somebody’s Long Lonely Night, Little Dreamer et Never Did Like That Train. Il a terminé la décennie avec l’hymne If the Wind Could Blow My Troubles Away, sa participation à Tears Are Not Enough, et son album « Swingin’ on a Star » finaliste aux JUNOs.

Ses projets les plus récents comprennent ses albums à succès de « Human Writes » et « Love Can’t Tell Time » (2012) tandis que Hourglass (2021) a figuré dans de nombreux Top 10 au Canada, aux États-Unis et ailleurs dans le monde. Il a remporté 11 prix JUNO tout au long de sa carrière estimée et figure parmi les 20 artistes les plus primés aux JUNOs de tous les temps.

L’écriture de McLauchlan, que ce soit dans son ancien style narratif ou dans son style impressionniste ultérieur, touche le peuple droit au cœur tandis que le sens visuel qu’il a acquis durant ses études en art inspire encore son écriture : « J’essaie toujours d’écrire de manière visuelle, de placer mes sujets dans leur contexte », explique-t-il.

Il a combiné son amour pour l’écriture et l’art visuel avec « A Thomson Day » (2021), un hommage à l’œuvre du peintre du Groupe des Sept, Tom Thomson, qui a donné lieu à une collaboration avec le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario.

Récemment, Child’s Song a été en vedette dans l’émission télévisée à succès de NBC « This Is Us » ; et Widespread Panic a enregistré une reprise rock à succès de l’ode sombre de McLauchlan Honky Red. D’autres artistes ont interprété les œuvres de McLauchlan au fil des décennies, notamment Bonnie Dobson, John McDermott, Renée Claude, David Wiffen, George Hamilton IV, Waylon Jennings, Kathy Mattea, David Bromberg, The Ennis Sisters, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, R. Harlan Smith, Walter Ostanek, Bob Neuwirth, 3’s a Crowd, Melanie Safka et Junkhouse.

Murray McLauchlan sera honoré par le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens le 9 juillet dans le cadre du Mariposa Folk Festival 2022.

À PROPOS DU PANTHÉON DES AUTEURS ET COMPOSITEURS CANADIENS

Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) honore et célèbre les auteurs et compositeurs canadiens et ceux qui ont consacré leur vie à l’héritage de la musique, et sa mission est de sensibiliser le public à leurs réalisations. Organisme national sans but lucratif, le PACC est dirigé par son propre conseil d’administration composé de créateurs et d’éditeurs de musique francophones et anglophones, ainsi que de représentants de l’industrie du disque. En décembre 2011, la SOCAN (Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique) a fait l’acquisition du PACC. Le mandat du Panthéon est conforme aux objectifs du PACC en tant qu’association fondée sur ses membres auteurs-compositeurs et éditeurs. Le PACC continue d’être géré en tant qu’entreprise indépendante. www.cshf.ca

À PROPOS DU MARIPOSA FOLK FESTIVAL

Le Mariposa Folk Festival a été fondé à Orillia, en Ontario, en 1961. Au fil des décennies, l’événement a su demeurer le rendez-vous musical le plus pertinent et le plus incontournable du Canada. Le Mariposa Folk Festival 2022 est de retour au Tudhope Park à Orillia, du 8 au 10 juillet, et les annonces récentes de Blue Rodeo et The Strumbellas s’ajoutent à une liste remarquable d’interprètes qui comprend Mavis Staples, Serena Ryder, Lennon Stella, JP Saxe, Allison Russell, Kathleen Edwards, Blackie & the Rodeo Kings, et bien d’autres. Le Mariposa Folk Festival, qui dure trois jours, propose plus de dix scènes de musique folk et roots ainsi que des présentations de contes, de danses et d’artisanat. Pour plus d’information, visitez le https://mariposafolk.com.

Contacts médias :

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame
Tran Nguyen, Centric PR
tran@centricpr.ca
c/416-220-4285

Mariposa Folk Festival
Pam Carter, présidente et coordonnatrice du festival Mariposa
blueheron5@sympatico.ca
c/705-826-1324

 

Dernières nouvelles
le 31 août, 2022

Lou-Adriane Cassidy et Eli Brown remportent le Prix Slaight Music pour un auteur-compositeur émergent 2022, présenté par le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 23 août, 2022

Légendaire salle de spectacle : le El Mocambo est fier d’être le commanditaire principal du gala d’intronisation au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens qui aura lieu le samedi 24 septembre.

Blogue, Communiqués de presse

Go back

Folk and Country Music Icon Murray McLauchlan to be Inducted to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame at the 2022 Mariposa Folk Festival

Media Releases

Orillia, ON (July 7, 2022) – He’s been hailed as one of Canada’s most culturally conscious songwriters of the 70s’ but Murray McLauchlan’s sympathetic song portraits of ordinary folk have appealed to our social conscience for more than five decades.  The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) is pleased to announce the Induction of singer-songwriter Murray McLauchlan, composer of more than 35 hit singles including the SOCAN Classics Farmer’s Song, Down by the Henry Moore, and Try Walkin’ Away.

Marking its first in-person songwriter induction ceremony since the pandemic, the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame is partnering with Mariposa Folk Festival to recognize McLauchlan on Saturday, July 9 on the Festival’s main stage.  Since 2018, the CSHF began partnering with music events and festivals across the country to connect with fans and celebrate the songs and songwriters to their musical roots.  McLauchlan will be officially inducted at Mariposa by long-time friend and CSHF Inductee Gordon Lightfoot and honoured with a special tribute performance by Blackie and the Rodeo Kings.

“I am honoured to join my respected friends Gordon Lightfoot, Joni Mitchell, and so many others in the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame,” says McLauchlan.

The 2022 Mariposa Folk Festival takes place July 8 – 10 in J.D. Tudhope Memorial Park, Orillia ON. Tickets are available at mariposafolk.com.

Murray McLauchlan was born in Scotland, and raised in Toronto ON, where he studied art and began singing in coffeehouses at age 17. He frequented Yorkville’s The Riverboat, a hub for the folk-rock music scene in the 70s where fellow singer-songwriters Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot, and other Canadian icons would play – that was also a favourite tour stop for American artists including Simon and Garfunkel, and folksinger Tom Rush.  McLauchlan would play his bittersweet compositions Old Man’s Song and Child’s Song on the backsteps of The Riverboat for Tom Rush, who became the first artist to record one of McLauchlan’s insightful songs. Child’s Song was recorded by Tom Rush in 1970; and would later garner McLauchlan three JUNO Awards for Folk Single, Country Single, and Songwriter of the Year.

In 1971, McLauchlan signed with True North Records and recorded his debut album, “Song from the Street,” that reached Top 40 in Canada.  His first Top 10 single came from The Farmer’s Song which drew attention to the industrial forces decimating family farms, while earning him his first JUNO Awards for Best Songwriter, Folk Single, and Country Single. His follow up album “Sweeping the Spotlight Away” earned him a JUNO for Best Country Vocalist; and his homage to Toronto, Down by the Henry Moore, became his first No. 1 hit to cross over on both pop and country charts.

McLauchlan’s first gold record came with the 1976 album “Boulevard,” which included the hit single On the Boulevard.  Through the 1980s, McLauchlan enjoyed further success with hit singles like Do You Dream of Being Somebody?, Somebody’s Long Lonely Night, Little Dreamer, and Never Did Like That Train. He rounded out the decade with the anthem If the Wind Could Blow My Troubles Away, participation in Tears Are Not Enough, and his JUNO-nominated album “Swingin’ on a Star.”

His most recent endeavors include his 2012 hit albums “Human Writes” and “Love Can’t Tell Time.” and 2021’s Hourglass that has made numerous Top 10 lists in Canada, the U.S. and throughout the world. He was won 11 JUNO Awards throughout his esteemed career and is among the Top 20 most-winning JUNO artists of all time.

McLauchlan’s songwriting, whether in his earlier narrative style or his later impressionistic one, has definite grassroots appeal. And the visual sense he developed while studying art as a youth still inspires his songwriting: “I always try to write visually, to put someone into their context,” he explains.

His love for songwriting and art came together in 2021’s “A Thomson Day”, a tribute to the work of Group of Seven painter Tom Thomson that resulted in a collaboration with the Art Gallery of Ontario.

Recently, Child’s Song was featured in the hit NBC TV show “This Is Us;” and Widespread Panic recorded a hit rock cover of McLauchlan’s dark ode Honky Red.  Others to cover McLauchlan’s work over the decades include Bonnie Dobson, John McDermott, Renée Claude, David Wiffen, George Hamilton IV, Waylon Jennings, Kathy Mattea, David Bromberg, The Ennis Sisters, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, R. Harlan Smith, Walter Ostanek, Bob Neuwirth, 3’s a Crowd, Melanie Safka, and Junkhouse.

Murray McLauchlan will be honoured by the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame at the 2022 Mariposa Folk Festival on Saturday, July 9th.

ABOUT CANADIAN SONGWRITERS HALL OF FAME

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) honours and celebrates Canadian songwriters and those who’ve dedicated their lives to the legacy of music; and works to educate the public about these achievements. National and non-profit, the CSHF is guided by its own Board of Directors, who comprise both Anglophone and Francophone music creators and publishers, as well as representation from the record industry. In December of 2011, SOCAN (the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) acquired the CSHF. The Hall of Fame’s mandate aligns with SOCAN’s objectives as a songwriter and publisher membership-based organization. The CSHF continues to be run as a separate organization. www.cshf.ca

ABOUT MARIPOSA FOLK FESTIVAL

The Mariposa Folk Festival was founded in Orillia, Ontario in 1961. Through the decades it has found a way to remain Canada’s most relevant and not-to-be-missed musical gathering. The 2022 Mariposa Folk Festival is set to return to Tudhope Park in Orillia, July 8-10, and the recent lineup announcements of Blue Rodeo and The Strumbellas are added to a remarkable list of performers that includes Mavis Staples, Serena Ryder, Lennon Stella, JP Saxe, Allison Russell, Kathleen Edwards, Blackie & the Rodeo Kings, and many more. The three-day Mariposa Folk Festival features more than ten stages of top folk-roots music, along with presentations of story, dance, and craft.  For more information, visit https://mariposafolk.com/

Media Contacts:

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame
Tran Nguyen, Centric PR
tran@centricpr.ca
c/416-220-4285

Mariposa Folk Festival
Pam Carter Mariposa President and Festival Coordinator
blueheron5@sympatico.ca
c/705-826-1324

Latest News
October 17, 2022

“Hats Off” to Lighthouse: Ralph Cole, Paul Hoffert, Bob McBride, and Skip (Ronald Harry) Prokop, are the Newest Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
September 26, 2022

Unforgettable Performances and Tributes From Canada’s Biggest Night in Music Honouring 2022 Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases