Frank Davies | Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductee
Go back

Frank Davies

Year of Induction: 2005
Special Achievement Recipient

Frank Davies is a Canadian record producer and music publisher. Davies has been a major contributor to the growth of Canada’s music industry and its creative community for more than four decades.

Frank Davies is credited with discovering, producing, publishing, and developing the careers of many celebrated artists and songwriters, as well as being an advocate for their status.

Prior to launching TMP, Davies was the President of ATV Music’s Canadian company for four years and oversaw its U.S east coast operations during its sale to Michael Jackson. Davies also owned the Canadian independent record label Daffodil throughout the 70s for which he produced, among other hits, the very first CanCon single ever released – Oh What a Feeling by Crowbar.

Before coming to Canada from the United Kingdom in 1970, he worked for both EMI Records and Liberty Records, and started his music career as a correspondent for Billboard magazine in France in 1964.

Davies secured 1,500 recordings of the songs contained in the publishing catalogues he owned by artists as diverse as Joe Cocker, Bonnie Raitt, Alice Cooper, the Doobie Brothers, Tom Cochrane, Mountain, Heart, Glass Tiger, Cher, Don Henley & Sheryl Crow, kd lang, Tanya Tucker, Alannah Myles, Loverboy, Terri Clark, Emmylou Harris, the Wilkinsons, Chilliwack, the Dirty Dancing soundtrack, Wynonna, Junkhouse, George Jones, Bette Midler, the Carpenters, Blue Öyster Cult, Amanda Marshall and the Guess Who.

Canadian songwriters and recording artists represented by Davies over the years reads like a ‘who’s who’ of some of the greatest domestic talent since ‘Canadian Content’ was introduced 35 years ago. They include: Murray McLauchlan, Honeymoon Suite, Ron Hynes, Crowbar, Klaatu, the King Biscuit Boy, A Foot In Coldwater, Tom Cochrane, Alfie Zappacosta, Dean McTaggart, Sherry Kean, Exchange (Gerald O’Brien and Steve Sexton), Ian Thomas/The Boomers, Hagood Hardy, David Tyson, Eddie Schwartz, Jane Siberry, Aldo Nova, Dan Hill, Toronto, Bill Henderson/Chilliwack, the Headpins, Christopher Ward, the Pukka Orchestra, Annette Ducharme, John Capek, Gil Grand, Robert Priest, Bill Wallace, Molly Johnson and many others.

Davies also served as a director on a variety of boards including CARAS, CMRRA, FACTOR, PROCAN, CMPA, OMDC, and SOCAN; and he founded the non-profit Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame/Le panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (CSHF) in 1998 and served as its Chairman until 2004.

Read full Bio
Ron Hynes presents Frank Davies with a CSHF Special Achievement Award
Davies was introduced by Newfoundland singer-songwriter Ron Hynes and presented with his Special Achievement Award at the 2005 CSHF Induction Gala.
Related News
July 02, 2024

Celebrating Gordon Lightfoot Concert Special Debuted Canada Day on CBC Platforms

June 20, 2024

Jim Cuddy On His New Album, Upcoming Induction, And The Impact Of Playing Music

Our Partners