Retourner

Bryan Adams

Année de l'intronisation: 2022
Origine: Kingston, Ontario

Gagnant d’un Grammy, d’un nombre enviable de JUNOs et de 21 Prix SOCAN, la mégavedette internationale et auteur-compositeur vancouvérois Bryan Adams a une place de choix sur la scène rock canadienne et internationale. Né à Kingston, en Ontario, en 1959, Adams a passé une partie de son enfance à voyager en Angleterre, en Israël et en Europe, où son père a servi comme officier de l’armée et diplomate, avant de s’installer à Vancouver. Imprégné de la musique d’Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Deep Purple, Jimmy Page et Eric Clapton, Bryan Adams chantait déjà pour le groupe glam rock Sweeney Todd à l’âge de 16 ans. C’est à 18 ans qu’il fera la rencontre fortuite de son collègue du Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens, Jim Vallance, et que sa carrière solo prendra son envol.

Le partenariat créatif entre Adams et Vallance a établi une formule gagnante qui a permis à la voix veloutée d’Adams de figurer régulièrement sur les palmarès en Amérique du Nord, au Royaume-Uni et à l’étranger.

Son premier simple – et son premier succès sur les palmarès – fut une pièce disco intitulée Let Me Take You Dancing lancée en 1978, mais il se tournera rapidement vers le rock classique, un genre musical qu’il fera sien tout au long des années 80 et 90. son premier album, paru en 1980, lui a valu une première de très nombreuses nominations aux JUNOs.

« Ç’a été une ascension incroyable ; on est partis de rien et on s’est retrouvés avec des “hits”. À nos débuts, on passait des heures dans le sous-sol chez Jim à s’amuser avec toutes sortes d’idées », se souvient Adams. « J’ai été très impressionné par Bryan dès que je l’ai rencontré. Son talent et son ambition extraordinaires sautaient aux yeux. »

Son album « Cuts Like a Knife » (1983) a fait irruption sur la scène comme une tonne de briques et la chanson titre ainsi que les simples Straight from the Heart et This Time lui ont valu les JUNO du compositeur de l’année (avec Vallance) et du meilleur chanteur.

« Reckless », qui sera lancé l’année suivante, a remporté le JUNO du meilleur album et il s’est rendu en première position du palmarès des albums canadiens et aussi du palmarès Billboard grâce à une série de « hits », dont notamment le premier simple du duo à se rendre au sommet du Hot 100 de Billboard, Heaven, le no 1 Mainstream Rock et Classique de la SOCAN Run to You et la chanson préférée d’Adams lui-même, la nostalgique Summer of ’69.

Depuis, plusieurs albums d’Adams se sont hissés en tête des palmarès britanniques, « Room Service » s’est hissé en tête du classement européen du Billboard, et « Waking Up the Neighbours », « 11 » et « Tracks of My Years » ont atteint la première position au Canada.

Son écriture est entrée dans une phase plus réfléchie lorsqu’il a créé des « power ballads » et des chansons de crooner, dont la très émouvante (Everything I Do) I Do It For You (écrite avec Robert « Mutt » Lange et Michael Kamen), qui s’est immédiatement rendue au sommet des palmarès et est devenue la chanson no 1 de Cashbox en fin d’année. Elle remportera également le Grammy de la meilleure chanson écrite pour un film. Sa composition gospel pleine de soul Never Gonna Break My Faith vaudra également un Grammy à Aretha Franklin.

Au total, Adams a obtenu 63 nominations aux prix JUNO et plus de 20 victoires dans les catégories meilleur artiste, chanteur de l’année, album le plus vendu, meilleur artiste masculin, meilleur auteur-compositeur et producteur de l’année. Il a remporté son plus récent JUNO en 2020 dans la catégorie meilleur album adulte contemporain.

Parmi ses autres chansons no 1 (souvent dans plusieurs pays), on retrouve Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman, All for Love, Please Forgive Me, Don’t Give Up, et Stop Crying Your Heart Out. Ses autres no 1 sur les palmarès canadiens incluent Can’t Stop This Thing We Started, Thought I’d Died and Gone to Heaven, Let’s Make a Night to Remember, Open Road, On a Day Like Today et la chanson caritative (écrit avec Vallance et David Foster) Tears Are Not Enough.

Bryan Adams a un seul conseil pour les auteurs-compositeurs en devenir : « écrivez de bonnes chansons. Ne pensez pas à votre distribution numérique… Écrivez juste de bonnes chansons… Tout le monde veut entendre une bonne chanson. »

Adams continue d’écrire et d’enregistrer ; il a récemment collaboré à nouveau avec Vallance sur le spectacle de Broadway « Pretty Woman: The Musical ». Il est également reconnu en tant que photographe et pour sa fondation caritative.

Parmi les nombreux honneurs qu’il a reçus, citons une place au Music Hall of Fame du Canada et sur les Walks of Fame du Canada et d’Hollywood, un prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle et un timbre de Postes Canada. Il est officier de l’Ordre du Canada et membre de l’Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique.

Lire la biographie complète
/
Bryan Adams intronisé au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens
Bryan Adams a été intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens le 24 septembre 2022 au Massey Hall de Toronto. C’est David Foster qui lui a remis cet honneur.
Articles apparentés
le 26 mars, 2024

Maestro Fresh Wes Inducted Into The Canadian Music Hall of Fame

Blogue
le 22 février, 2024

King Lou talks the genesis and legacy of Dream Warriors’ « My Definition of a Boombastic Jazz Style »

Blogue
Nos partenaires

Go back

Bryan Adams

Year of Induction: 2022
Origin: Kingston, Ontario

With a Grammy award, an enviable collection of Junos and 21 SOCAN awards, superstar Vancouver songwriter Bryan Adams holds a pre-eminent place on the Canadian and international rock music scenes. Born in Kingston, Ontario in 1959, Adams’s childhood travels included England, Israel, and Europe, where his father served as an army officer and diplomat, before he settled in Vancouver. Steeped in the music of Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Deep Purple, Jimmy Page, and Eric Clapton, at 16 Adams was singing for the glam-rock band Sweeney Todd. Then at 18 came the coincidental meeting with fellow Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee Jim Vallance that launched Adams’s solo recording career.

The inspired Adams-Vallance songwriting partnership established a winning formula that made Adams’s distinctive velvety voice a regular feature on the charts in North America, the U.K., and abroad.

His first single — and first chart hit — was the 1978 disco number Let Me Take You Dancing, before he settled into classic rock, rapidly claiming ownership of the genre through the 1980s and 1990s. His 1980 debut album earned his first of many Juno nominations.

Adams remembered: “It was an incredible ascension from absolutely nothing to having hit songs. In the beginning, we used to spend hours and hours in Jim’s basement toying with ideas.” Vallance adds: “Right from the first day I was impressed with Bryan. It was obvious he had enormous talent coupled with extraordinary drive.”

Adams’s 1983 album “Cuts Like a Knife” roared onto the scene with the impact of a thundering train, the title track plus the singles Straight from the Heart and This Time winning him Junos for composer of the year (with Vallance) plus best male vocalist.

The following year’s “Reckless” album won Juno’s best album award and reached No. 1 on the Billboard and Canadian album charts, yielding another string of hot hits including the duo’s first Billboard Hot 100 No. 1 single, Heaven; the SOCAN Classic and No. 1 Mainstream Rock track Run to You; and Adams’s personal favourite, the nostalgic Summer of ’69.

Since then several Adams albums have topped the U.K. charts, “Room Service” topped Billboard’s European chart, and “Waking Up the Neighbours”, “11”, and “Tracks of My Years” reached No. 1 in Canada.

Adams’s songwriting entered a more reflective phase with power ballads and “crooner” songs, including 1991’s deeply emotional (Everything I Do) I Do It For You (written with Robert “Mutt” Lange and Michael Kamen), which rocketed immediately to No. 1, becoming the Cashbox year-end No. 1 song. It went on to take the Grammy for Best Song Written for Motion Picture. (Adams’s soulful gospel composition Never Gonna Break My Faith later earned a Grammy for Aretha Franklin.)

Overall Adams has earned an eye-popping 63 Juno nominations and over 20 wins – for best entertainer, male vocalist of the year, best-selling album, best male artist, best songwriter, and producer of the year. His most recent Juno win came in 2020, for adult contemporary album of the year.

Among his other No. 1 songs (often in several countries) are Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman, All for Love, Please Forgive Me, Don’t Give Up, and Stop Crying Your Heart Out. His additional No. 1 hits on the Canadian charts include Can’t Stop This Thing We Started, Thought I’d Died and Gone to Heaven, Let’s Make a Night to Remember, Open Road, On a Day Like Today and the charity single (written with Vallance and David Foster) Tears Are Not Enough.

To aspiring songwriters Adams advises, “There’s only a one-point plan: Write good songs. Don’t think about your digital distribution….Just write good songs….Everybody wants good songs.”

Adams continues to write and record; recently he collaborated again with Vallance on the Broadway show “Pretty Woman: The Musical.”  He is also known for his photography and his charitable foundation.

His many honours include a place in Canada’s Music Hall of Fame and on the Canadian and Hollywood Walks of Fame, a Governor-General’s Performing Arts Award, and a Canada Post stamp. He is an officer of the Order of Canada and a member of the Order of British Columbia.

Read full Bio
/
Bryan Adams inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame
With countless Billboard hits and an illustrious career that spans more than four decades, Canadian rock superstar Bryan Adams has solidified his rank as one of the world's most successful musicians and songwriters of all time. Bryan Adams was inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame alongside long-time songwriting partner Jim Vallance on Saturday, September 24, 2022, at Toronto's Massey Hall. Adams was presented with his award by David Foster.
Related News
February 22, 2024

King Lou talks the genesis and legacy of Dream Warriors’ “My Definition of a Boombastic Jazz Style”

Blog
February 15, 2024

Neil Young and Crazy Horse Announce New Album and Tour

Blog
Our Partners