Toutes chansons intronisées
« J’ai commencé à jouer ce “riff” sur scène, et j’ai soudainement réalisé que j’étais en train de jouer un “riff” que je ne devais pas oublier et que je devais continuer de le jouer. » - Randy Bachman
American Woman
  • Année de l'intronisation: 2005
  • Année de composition: 1969
Auteurs-compositeurs
Garry Peterson Auteur-compositeur
Jim Kale Auteur-compositeur
Artistes
The Guess Who
Lenny Kravitz
Prince
Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band
Joe Ferry
Krokus
Jaymz Bee and the Royal Jelly Orchestra
Texas Chainsaw Orchestra
Le classique du rock American Woman par The Guess Who a une particularité très remarquable dans le domaine de la musique canadienne : c’est la première chanson canadienne à s’être rendu au No 1 des palmarès américains.

American Woman est née lors d’un concert en Ontario en 1969 durant lequel Randy Bachman a brisé une des cordes de sa guitare. Après avoir changé ladite corde, il a commencé à s’amuser sur une progression d’accords et Garry Peterson et Jim Kale ont emboîté le pas. Burton Cummings est revenu en courant et a sur-le-champ improvisé les célèbres paroles « American woman, stay away from me ». Lorsqu’ils ont terminé leur « jam », la réponse du public leur a confirmé qu’ils tenaient un bon filon. La chanson a continué son évolution au fil des spectacles et les membres du groupe ont passé une journée en studio afin de l’enregistrer avant de dévoiler le produit fini à Seattle quelque temps après.

C’est Jack Richardson qui était à la réalisation et le groupe a lancé son album « American Woman » en 1970. En quelques semaines à peine, tant l’album que le 45 trs (Nimbus 9-74-0325-N) ont été certifiés Or. Au Canada, le simple a atteint le sommet du palmarès CHUM le 25 avril et le 2 mai 1970, dérobant la première position à Let It Be des Beatles, et American Woman passera au total cinq semaines dans le Top 10. Pendant ce temps, le simple a trôné au sommet du Top 100 RPM durant deux semaines, en mai.

Les disc jockeys et le public américains ont réagi avec tout autant d’enthousiasme ; en mai 1970, American Woman a dominé le palmarès Billboard Hot 100 pendant trois semaines, une première pour un groupe canadien. La face B proposait la pièce No Sugar Tonight, faisant ainsi du simple un « double face A », c’est-à-dire un simple avec un « hit » sur chaque face.

Le terreau était fertile pour cette chanson engagée et coup de poing avec l’apogée des manifestations contre la guerre du Vietnam et ses paroles « I don’t want you war machines, I don’t want your ghetto scenes » (librement : je ne veux pas de tes machines de guerre, je ne veux pas de tes scènes de ghetto).

L’album a également bien fait sur les palmarès et la version de American Woman qui y figurait était plus longue et comportait une intro blues improvisée où Cummings chantait « Gonna mess your mind; I say A; I say M …, » épelant ainsi « American ».

Le « riff » de guitare unique de American Woman a été joué sur sa Gibson Les Paul 1959 (la guitare préférée d’Eric Clapton et Jimmy Page, notamment), et un amplificateur sur mesure, et la « whammy bar » (manche de vibrato) de la guitare lui a permis de créer la distorsion, le « feedback » et les notes « tordues » qu’il cherchait.

Grâce au succès d’American Woman, The Guess Who a remporté le JUNO du meilleur groupe vocal instrumental en 1970 et 1971. American Woman a également reçu un prix BMI et été sacrée Classique de la SOCAN. De nombreux artistes ont repris cette chanson, notamment Bachman-Turner Overdrive, Copperfield Brass, Elite Aces, Prince, Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band, Joe Ferry, Krokus, Jaymz Bee and the Royal Jelly Orchestra, Led Zeppelin, The Willard Posey Reunion, et Texas Chainsaw Orchestra.

American Woman a repris du galon en 1999, alors que Lenny Kravitz l’a reprise et lui a valu le Grammy de la meilleure performance rock masculine en plus de passer 58 semaines dans le Top 100 RPM. Sa version a également été utilisée au cinéma dans la comédie Austin Powers 2, The Spy Who Shagged Me.

Dans son livre « Vinyl Tap », Bachman écrivait « Lenny a rendu American Woman contemporaine. Je suis continuellement étonné de voir à quel point mes chansons ont une longue vie et refont continuellement surface. Ça prouve que la musique transcende les générations et les décennies. »

American Woman a également pu être entendue dans les films « The Cable Guy » et « American Beauty » ainsi que dans des pubs de Tommy Hilfiger et Castrol.

En 2000, The Guess Who et Kravitz ont joué la chanson ensemble lors des MuchMusic Video Awards durant lequel The Guess Who a reçu un prix pour l’ensemble de la carrière du groupe.

American Woman a poursuivi son évolution, comme en témoigne la version captée en spectacle sur l’album certifié double platine « Running Back Thru Canada ». L’intro blues de cette énergique version de 13 minutes et 14 secondes est rallongée — fidèle à ses origines de « jam » — et comporte des paroles additionnelles.

The Guess Who, lauréat de nombreux JUNOs, a été fondé en 1965 à Winnipeg et est le premier « super groupe » canadien. Le groupe emblématique et maintes fois primé est responsable de « hits » pop et rock millionnaires comme These Eyes, Laughing et No Time et était au sommet de sa popularité au début des années 70. Le groupe a également reçu un Prix du gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène en plus d’être intronisé au Panthéon de la musique canadienne et au Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Lire l'article au complet
/
American Woman (The Guess Who) - performed by an All-Star Tribute Band
"American Woman", written and composed by the members of The Guess Who, was performed by an All-Star Tribute Band at the 2005 CSHF Induction Gala, including Juno-award winning singer-songwriter Tom Cochrane, rock artist Ian Thornley, Canadian musician Gavin Brown, vocalist Margo Timmins, blues legend Jeff Healey and members of Canadian rock band Three Days Grace.
Articles apparentés
le 13 octobre, 2018

« Home for a Rest » de Spirit of the West intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Nouvelles du PACC
le 06 septembre, 2018

Le PACC intronisera le succès « Paper Rosie » dans le cadre de l’édition 2018 du CCMA Legends Show

Nouvelles du PACC
Nos partenaires

All inducted songs
"I started to play that riff on stage and suddenly I realize I'm playing a riff I don't want to forget, and I have to keep playing it." - Randy Bachman
American Woman
  • Year Inducted: 2005
  • Written In: 1970
Songwriters
Garry Peterson Songwriter
Jim Kale Songwriter
Artists
The Guess Who
Lenny Kravitz
Prince
Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band
Joe Ferry
Krokus
Jaymz Bee and the Royal Jelly Orchestra
Texas Chainsaw Orchestra
The Guess Who’s classic rock hit American Woman earned a singular distinction among Canadian recordings: it was the nation’s first No. 1 hit in the United States.

American Woman was born at an Ontario gig in 1969, when Bachman broke a guitar string. After he changed the string, he started riffing on a chord pattern, and Garry Peterson and Jim Kale joined in the jam. Cummings ran back in, and with no plan, improvised the immortal words, “American woman, stay away from me.” When the jam ended, the audience response told the band that they had something big. The song evolved further at future gigs and they devoted a day in a studio to it, before finally revealing the completed American Woman in Seattle later that year.

With Jack Richardson producing, the band recorded the song for their “American Woman” album and released it in 1970. Both the album and the 45-rpm single (Nimbus 9-74-0325-N) went gold within weeks. In Canada, the single topped Toronto’s CHUM radio chart for April 25 and May 2, 1970, pushing The Beatles’ Let It Be out of No. 1; overall American Woman spent five weeks in the top ten. Meanwhile on RPM’s Top 100 chart, the single was No. 1 for two weeks in May.

American disc jockeys and audiences reacted with similar enthusiasm; in May 1970, American Woman reigned at No. 1 on Billboard’s Hot 100 for three weeks, the first No. 1 hit by any Canadian band. On the B side was No Sugar Tonight, making the record a “double A-side” (a hit on both sides).

The timing was right, at the height of the Vietnam War and anti-war protests, for Americans to hear this hard-driving protest song with its defiant lyrics, “I don’t want your war machines, I don’t want your ghetto scenes.”

The album also charted well, with a longer version of American Woman featuring an improvisational blues introduction with Cummings singing, “Gonna mess your mind; I say A; I say M…,” spelling out “American.”

Bachman’s distinctive guitar riff on American Woman was achieved on his 1959 Gibson Les Paul (the brand favoured by Eric Clapton and Jimmy Page), with a custom amplifier unit and “whammy” bar that allowed him to create the distortion, feedback and bent notes that he aimed for.

On the strength of American Woman’s success, The Guess Who won Juno awards in 1970 and 1971 for top vocal instrumental group. American Woman was later recognized with BMI and SOCAN Classic awards. Many artists have covered the song, including Bachman-Turner Overdrive, Copperfield Brass, Elite Aces, Prince, Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band, Joe Ferry, Krokus, Jaymz Bee and the Royal Jelly Orchestra, Led Zeppelin, the Willard Posey Reunion, and Texas Chainsaw Orchestra.

American Woman was revived in 1999 when Lenny Kravitz’s cover earned a Grammy for best male rock performance and spent an amazing 58 weeks on RPM’s Top 100 chart. His version also made it to the big screen in the comedy Austin Powers 2, The Spy Who Shagged Me.

Bachman said in his book “Vinyl Tap,” “Lenny made American Woman contemporary. I’m continually amazed that my songs have longevity to them and keep reappearing. It proves that the music has transcended the generations and decades.”

American Woman was also featured in “The Cable Guy” and “American Beauty” and in commercials for Tommy Hilfiger and Castrol motor oil.

The Guess Who united with Kravitz to perform the song in 2000 at the MuchMusic Video awards in Toronto, where the band received a lifetime achievement award.
American Woman has continued to evolve, as captured on the double-platinum live “Running Back Thru Canada” CD. It’s a remarkable, energy-filled 13 minutes and 14 seconds, featuring an extended blues introduction ‒ true to the song’s roots as a jam ‒ with additional lyrics.

The Juno award-winning The Guess Who, formed in Winnipeg in 1965, was Canada’s first super-group. The iconic, much-honoured rock band recorded such million-selling rock and pop hits as These Eyes, Laughing, and No Time at the peak of its success by the early 1970s. The Guess Who’s accomplishments include a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award and recognition in the Canadian Music Hall of Fame and Canada’s Walk of Fame.

Read full story
/
American Woman (The Guess Who) - performed by an All-Star Tribute Band
"American Woman", written and composed by the members of The Guess Who, was performed by an All-Star Tribute Band at the 2005 CSHF Induction Gala, including Juno-award winning singer-songwriter Tom Cochrane, rock artist Ian Thornley, Canadian musician Gavin Brown, vocalist Margo Timmins, blues legend Jeff Healey and members of Canadian rock band Three Days Grace.
Related News
August 27, 2018

Marcel Martel's “Un coin du ciel” to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame at Festival Western de St-Tite

Media releases
August 16, 2018

Robert Paquette’s “Bleu et blanc” to be inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame during 50th Edition of Festival international de la chanson de Granby

Media releases
Our Partners