All inducted songs
“The ballad seemed to fill my head and guide my fingers as I picked it out on the piano”.
I'll Never Smile Again
  • Year Inducted: 2003
  • Written In: 1939
Ruth Lowe Songwriter
Ray Charles
Doris Day
Tommy Dorsey
Billie Holiday
Barry Manilow
Oscar Peterson
The Platters
George Shearing
Frank Sinatra

Ruth Lowe wrote this song shortly after the death of her first husband, Harold Cohen. Although, it is widely believed that Frank Sinatra was the first to record I’ll Never Smile Again, it was actually first broadcast to CBC listeners in 1939 on Percy Faith’s CBC radio program Music by Faith. The song became Sinatra’s first #1 record. In fact, Frank Sinatra and Tommy Dorsey’s version was so popular that it was selected in 1958 as one of the best pop songs of all time. Lowe also wrote Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day), which was Frank Sinatra’s closing theme for many years. I’ll Never Smile Again received Grammy honours a year after Lowe’s death, when it was inducted into the American Recording Hall of Fame.

I'll Never Smile Again (Ruth Lowe) - performed by Sarah Slean
"I'll Never Smile Again" was performed by Canadian singer-songwriter Sarah Slean at the 2003 CSHF Induction Ceremony.
Related News
October 13, 2018

Spirit of the West’s “Home for a Rest” inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

September 06, 2018

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame to induct 70’s country hit “Paper Rosie” at 2018 CCMA Legends Show

Our Partners